Our Story

Democracy Prep Charter High School provides a rigorous college preparatory education for all scholars. Democracy Prep scholars have earned 90% pass rates for the past several years on the English, Integrated Algebra, Chemistry, Global History, Geometry, and Algebra 2/Trigonometry Regents exams, and most recently, the Korean LOTE exam. Additionally, we nurture our scholars’ civic souls with many civic engagement opportunities as well as a rigorous Civics Seminar during their senior year. Scholars also get an opportunity to see and learn about the world by going on various international trips throughout their tenure at DP. This enables them to truly live out our motto: Work Hard. Go to College. Change the World!

PRINCIPAL
Elisa DiMauro

ASSISTANT PRINCIPALS
Nolan McDaniel

GRADES SERVED
9 – 12

CURRENT ENROLLMENT
402 Scholars

 

The DREAM Team

Elisa Dimauro

Principal

edimauro@democracyprep.org

Nolan McDaniel

Assistant Principal

nolan.mcdaniel@democracyprep.org

Hugo Crespo

Operations Manager

hugo.crespo@democracyprep.org

Joshua Espinoza

Social Worker

joshua.espinoza@democracyprep.org

Tynaia Rhoden

DREAM Coach

tynaia.rhoden@democracyprep.org

Egypt Buie

DREAM Coach

egypt.buie@democracyprep.org

Matthew Landau

12th Grade Chair, Sociology of Change

matthew.landau@democracyprep.org

Luisa Toribio

11th Grade Chair, Administrative Manager

luisa.toribio@democracyprep.org

Zalina Coronas

10th Grade Chair, AP European History, Global History II

zalina.coronas@democracyprep.org

Samirah Edwards-Jones

9th Grade Chair, Algebra I

samirah.edwardsjones@democracyprep.org

Erin Amato

Geometry

erin.gilliam@democracyprep.org

Erwin Sarazin

Algebra II

erwin.sarazin@democracyprep.org

Ryan Sajac

AP Calculus AB, AP Calculus BC

ryan.sajac@democracyprep.org

Emily Smythe

English Language Arts I

emily.smythe@democracyprep.org

Joseph Aguila

English Language Arts I

joseph.aguila@democracyprep.org

Daviene Escourse

Teaching Resident

daviene.escourse@democracyprep.org

Micah Nelson

English Language Arts II

micah.nelson@democracyprep.org

Fabio Puello

English Language Arts II

fabio.puello@democracyprep.org

Dugdrick Bevins

Advanced English Seminar

dudgrick.bevins@democracyprep.org

Brittany Long

Advanced English Seminar II

brittany.long@democracyprep.org

Joshua Goodwin

Global History I

joshua.goodwin@democracyprep.org

Jude Thomas

Teaching Resident

jude.thomas@democracyprep.org

Ashley Getting

US History, AP US History

agetting@democracyprep.org

Nari Kovalski

Korean I

nari.kovalski@democracyprep.org

Gieun Lee

Korean II

gieun.lee@democracyprep.org

Youngjae Hur

Korean III

yhur@democracyprep.org

Garret Stevens

Biology

garrett.stevens@democracyprep.org

Jacob Sienko

Chemistry

jacob.sienko@democracyprep.org

Francis Amaniera

Physics

famaniera@democracyprep.org

Eshwari Persaud

AP Biology

eshwari.persaud@democracyprep.org

Pachoua Yang

9th Grade ACT

pachoua.yang@democracyprep.org

Victoria Dorony

10th Grade ACT

victoria.dorony@democracyprep.org

Daniel Resner

11th Grade ACT

daniel.resner@democracyprep.org

Paul Hyun

12th Grade ACT, Change the World

paul.hyun@democracyprep.org

Steven Lance

Modern Web Development, AP Computer Science A

slance@democracyprep.org

Katrina Brown

Choreographic Methods

katrina.brown@democracyprep.org

Messiah Davis

Health I

messiah.davis@democracyprep.org

Adam Garnett

Remote Video, Art and Action III

agarnett@democracyprep.org

Christine Lacey

Senior College Counselor

christine.lacey@democracyprep.org

Ezeleni Herrera

College Counselor

ezeleni.herrera@democracyprep.org

Julissa Peralta

Receptionist

julissa.peralta@democracyprep.org

Massendie Diaby

Operations Coordinator

massendie.diaby@democracyprep.org

DPNY Board of Directors

To contact the Democracy Prep Charter High School Board, please email Boardoftrustees@DemocracyPrep.org

For information about the DPNY Board of Trustees, including minutes and upcoming meeting dates, click here.