Our Story

Democracy Prep Charter High School provides a rigorous college preparatory education for all scholars. Democracy Prep scholars have earned 90% pass rates for the past several years on the English, Integrated Algebra, Chemistry, Global History, Geometry, and Algebra 2/Trigonometry Regents exams, and most recently, the Korean LOTE exam. Additionally, we nurture our scholars’ civic souls with many civic engagement opportunities as well as a rigorous Civics Seminar during their senior year. Scholars also get an opportunity to see and learn about the world by going on various international trips throughout their tenure at DP. This enables them to truly live out our motto: Work Hard. Go to College. Change the World!

PRINCIPAL
Philicia Davis

ASSISTANT PRINCIPAL
Paul Asjes

GRADES SERVED
9 – 12

CURRENT ENROLLMENT
402 Scholars

 

The DREAM Team

Philicia Davis

Principal

philicia.davis@democracyprep.org

Paul Asjes

Assistant Principal

paul.asjes@democracyprep.org

Hugo Crespo

Operations Manager

hugo.crespo@democracyprep.org

Garret Stevens

9th Grade Chair, 9th Grade Biology

garrett.stevens@democracyprep.org

Shaniah Thomas

English Language Arts I

shaniah.thomas@democracyprep.org

Daniel Resner

English Language Arts I

daniel.resner@democracyprep.org

Paul Hyun

9th Grade Global History I

paul.hyun@democracyprep.org

Messiah Davis

Health I

messiah.davis@democracyprep.org

Nari Kovalski

Korean I

nari.kovalski@democracyprep.org

Samirah Edwards-Jones

9th grade Algebra I

samirah.edwardsjones@democracyprep.org

Steven Lance

STEM Department Chair, Computer Science

slance@democracyprep.org

Tynaia Rhoden

10th Grade Chair, DREAM Coach

tynaia.rhoden@democracyprep.org

Adam Garnett

Art and Action (I & II)

agarnett@democracyprep.org

Madeline Yap

Korean II

madeline.yap@democracyprep.org

Erin Amato

10th Grade Geometry

erin.gilliam@democracyprep.org

Fabio Puello

10th Grade English Language Arts II

fabio.puello@democracyprep.org

Zalina Coronas

AP European History

zalina.coronas@democracyprep.org

Gieun Lee

Korean II

gieun.lee@democracyprep.org

Jacob Sienko

10th Grade Chemistry

jacob.sienko@democracyprep.org

Micah Nelson

English Language Arts II

micah.nelson@democracyprep.org

Francis Amaniera

11th Grade Chair, 11th Grade Physics

famaniera@democracyprep.org

Breanda Jenkins

ACT English Language Arts

Brenda.jenkins@democracyprep.org

Ashley Getting

US History, AP US History

agetting@democracyprep.org

Youngjae Hur

Korean III

yhur@democracyprep.org

Dugdrick Bevins

Advanced English Seminar I

dudgrick.bevins@democracyprep.org

Jude Thomas

11th and 12th Grade ACT History

jude.thomas@democracyprep.org

Katrina Brown

12th Grade Chair, Dance

katrina.brown@democracyprep.org

Christopher Allen

12th Grade Sociology of Change

christopher.allen@democracyprep.org

Brittany Long

Advanced English Seminar II

brittany.long@democracyprep.org

Yi Zhang

AP Calculus

Yi.zhang@democracyprep.org

Eshwari Persaud

AP Biology

eshwari.persaud@democracyprep.org

Gerald Carter

12th Grade Change The World

gerald.carter@democracyprep.org

Christine Lacey

College Counselor

christine.lacey@democracyprep.org

Ezeleni Herrera

College Counselor

ezeleni.herrera@democracyprep.org

Joshua Espinoza

Social Worker

joshua.espinoza@democracyprep.org

Egypt Buie

DREAM Coach

egypt.buie@democracyprep.org

Luisa Toribio

Administrative Manager

luisa.toribio@democracyprep.org

Massendie Diaby

Operations Coordinator

massendie.diaby@democracyprep.org

Julissa Peralta

Receptionist

julissa.peralta@democracyprep.org

DPNY Board of Directors

Dr. Robert North

Chair, Harlem Hospital

Josh Pristaw

Vice Chair, GTIS Partners

Brian Berger

Treasurer, Glocap Search

Doug Snyder

Vice Chair, Starboard Value, L.P.

Roger Berg

Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman

Trevor Gibbons

Prosek Partners

Sean Windsor

BDO USA, LLP

Ken Weiller

Westfield Investment LLC

Alastair Wood

Kindur

Brittany Mullings

Human Resources Business Partner, National Basketball Association

Gregory Weston

Winston & Strawn LLP

Jake Foley III

Khary Barnes

Vice Chair, American Express

Ross Frommer

Columbia University Irving Medical Center

Stephanie King

Columbia University

Farida Ilboudo

Columbia University

To contact the Democracy Prep Charter High School Board, please email Boardoftrustees@DemocracyPrep.org

For information about the DPNY Board of Trustees, including minutes and upcoming meeting dates, click here.