Our Story

Democracy Prep Charter High School provides a rigorous college preparatory education for all scholars. Democracy Prep scholars have earned 90% pass rates for the past several years on the English, Integrated Algebra, Chemistry, Global History, Geometry, and Algebra 2/Trigonometry Regents exams, and most recently, the Korean LOTE exam. Additionally, we nurture our scholars’ civic souls with many civic engagement opportunities as well as a rigorous Civics Seminar during their senior year. Scholars also get an opportunity to see and learn about the world by going on various international trips throughout their tenure at DP. This enables them to truly live out our motto: Work Hard. Go to College. Change the World!

PRINCIPAL
Elisa DiMauro

ASSISTANT PRINCIPALS
Steven Lance & John Alvaro

GRADES SERVED
9 – 12

CURRENT ENROLLMENT
347 Scholars

The DREAM Team

Elisa Dimauro

Principal

edimauro@democracyprep.org

Steven Lance

Assistant Principal, AP Physics, Algebra II

slance@democracyprep.org

John Alvaro

Assistant Principal, 9th Grade Chair

john.alvaro@democracyprep.org

Mary Kathryn Oyaga

10th Grade Chair, Literature Studies II, Leader U Resident

marykathryn.oyaga@democracyprep.org

Dan Reiss

12th Grade Chair, Advanced English Seminar

dreiss@democracyprep.org

Erin Amato

Math Department Chair, Geometry

erin.gilliam@democracyprep.org

Nolan McDaniel

Algebra I, Test Prep

nolan.mcdaniel@democracyprep.org

Ryan Sajac

Calculus, AP Calculus

ryan.sajac@democracyprep.org

Dugdrick Bevins

English Department Chair, Advanced English Seminar

dudgrick.bevins@democracyprep.org

Brittany Long

Advanced English Seminar

brittany.long@democracyprep.org

Ashley Getting

History Department Chair, Sociology of Change, Change the World Project Coordinator

agetting@democracyprep.org

Matthew Landau

U.S History, AP U.S History, Test Prep

matthew.landau@democracyprep.org

Amy Nunes

Literature Studies I, Visual Arts

amy.nunes@democracyprep.org

Justin Woss

Literature II

justin.woss@democracyprep.org

Najee Warner

Writing I, Philosophy

najee.warner@democracyprep.org

Ashanti Ehrhart

Writing II

ashanti.ehrhart@democracypre.org

Youngjae Hur

Korean Department Chair, Korean III

yhur@democracyprep.org

Nari Kovalski

Korean I

nari.kovalski@democracyprep.org

Gieun Lee

Korean II

gieun.lee@democracyprep.org

Lindsay Swanson

Science Department Chair, Computer Science

lindsay.macgillivray@democracyprep.org

Nouran Aly

Biology

nouran.aly@democracyprep.org

Eshwari Persaud

AP Biology, Environmental Science

eshwari.persaud@democracyprep.org

Jacob Sienko

Chemistry

jacob.sienko@democracyprep.org

Frank Amaniera

Physics

famaniera@democracyprep.org

Byron Thomas

Global History I

byron.thomas@democracyprep.org

Zalina Coronas

Global History II

zalina.charriez@democracyprep.org

Messiah Davis

Physical Education

messiah.davis@democracyprep.org

Adam Garnett

Arts Teacher

agarnett@democracyprep.org

Victoria Del Toro

Senior College Counselor

victoria.deltoro@democracyprep.org

Corena Wiggins

College Counselor

corena.wiggins@democracyprep.org

Christine Lacey

College Counselor

christine.lacey@democracyprep.org

Victoria Dorony

ACT Coordinator

victoria.dorony@democracy

Paul Hyun

ACT: Social Studies

paul.hyun@democracyprep.org

Fateha Ahmed

ACT: Math

fateha.ahmed@democracyprep.org

Katherine Pile-Spellman

ACT: ELA

katherine.pilespellman@democracyprep.org

Emily Smythe

Teacher Resident

emily.smythe@democracyprep.org

Bo Mi Kim

Teacher Resident

bomi.kim@democracyprep.org

Jermaine Smiley

Scholar Support Specialist

jermaine.smiley@democracyprep.org

Lavon Green

DREAM Coach

lavon.green@democracyprep.org

Sherry Adams

Social Worker

sherry.adams@democracyprep.org

Stacy Dutil

Social Worker

sdutil@democracyprep.org

Jacqueline Martinez

Office Manager

jacqueline.martinez@democracyprep.org

Luisa Toribio

Registrar

luisa.toribio@democracyprep.org

Hugo Crespo

Operations Manager

hugo.crespo@democracyprep.org

Kameron Montague

Operations & Technology Associate

kameron.montague@democracyprep.org

Massendie Diaby

Family Impact Coordinator

massendie.diaby@democracyprep.org

Katrina DiBenedetto

Leader U Fellow, 11th Grade Chair

katrina.dibenedetto@democracyprep.org

DPNY Board of Directors

  Click to download DPCS Board Meeting Minutes – 2016-17

  Download Annual Report 16-17 

To contact the Democracy Prep Charter High School Board, please email Boardoftrustees@DemocracyPrep.org

For information about the DPNY Board of Trustees, including upcoming meeting dates, click here.