Our Story

Democracy Prep Charter High School provides a rigorous college preparatory education for all scholars. Democracy Prep scholars have earned 90% pass rates for the past several years on the English, Integrated Algebra, Chemistry, Global History, Geometry, and Algebra 2/Trigonometry Regents exams, and most recently, the Korean LOTE exam. Additionally, we nurture our scholars’ civic souls with many civic engagement opportunities as well as a rigorous Civics Seminar during their senior year. Scholars also get an opportunity to see and learn about the world by going on various international trips throughout their tenure at DP. This enables them to truly live out our motto: Work Hard. Go to College. Change the World!

PRINCIPAL
Elisa DiMauro

ASSISTANT PRINCIPAL
Steven Lance

GRADES SERVED
9 – 12

CURRENT ENROLLMENT
398 Scholars

The DREAM Team

Elisa Dimauro

Principal

edimauro@democracyprep.org

Steven Lance

Assistant Principal, AP Physics, Test Prep

slance@democracyprep.org

Katrina Brown

9th Grade Chair, Dance Teacher

katrina.brown@democracyprep.org

Mary Kathryn Oyaga

10th Grade Chair, Literature Studies II

marykathryn.oyaga@democracyprep.org

Krystina Luther

11th Grade Chair, ACT: Math

krystina.luther@democracyprep.org

Dan Reiss

12th Grade Chair, Co-English Department Chair, Advanced English Seminar

dreiss@democracyprep.org

Dugdrick Bevins

Co-English Department Chair, Advanced English Seminar

dudgrick.bevins@democracyprep.org

Ashley Getting

History Department Chair, Sociology of Change, Change the World Coordinator

agetting@democracyprep.org

Frank Amaniera

Science Department Chair, AP Biology, Physics

famaniera@democracyprep.org

Youngjae Hur

Korean Department Chair, Korean III

yhur@democracyprep.org

Erin Gilliam

Math Department Chair, Geometry

erin.gilliam@democracyprep.org

Ylaiza Perez

Algebra I

ylaiza.perez@democracyprep.org

Adam Bloch

Global History I

adam.bloch@democracyprep.org

Amy Nunes

Literature Studies I

amy.nunes@democracyprep.org

Najee Warner

Writing I

najee.warner@democracyprep.org

Nari Kovalski

Korean I

nari.kovalski@democracyprep.org

Nouran Aly

Biology

nouran.aly@democracyprep.org

Zalina Charriez

Global History II

zalina.charriez@democracyprep.org

Joseph Gonzalez

Writing II

joseph.gonzalez@democracyprep.org

Kyeyeon Park

Korean II

kyeyeon.park@democracyprep.org

Jacob Sienko

Chemistry

jacob.sienko@democracyprep.org

Mathew Gold

Algebra II

mgold@democracyprep.org

Brittany Long

Advanced English Seminar, Civics Coordinator

brittany.long@democracyprep.org

Virginia Low

U.S. History, AP U.S. History

virginia.low@democracyprep.org

Ryan Sajac

Calculus, AP Calculus

ryan.sajac@democracyprep.org

Adam Garnett

Arts Teacher

agarnett@democracyprep.org

Lindsay Swanson

Computer Science

lindsay.macgillivray@democracyprep.org

Garrett Stevens

ACT Coordinator, ACT: Science

garrett.stevens@democracyprep.org

Victoria Dorony

ACT: ELA

victoria.dorony@democracy

Joshua Ramos

ACT: ELA

joshua.ramos@democracyprep.org

Fabian Winter

ACT: Social Studies

fabian.winter@democracyprep.org

Jermaine Smiley

DREAM Coach

jermaine.smiley@democracyprep.org

Sherry Adams

Social Worker

sherry.adams@democracyprep.org

Stacy Dutil

Social Worker

sdutil@democracyprep.org

Victoria Del Toro

College Counselor, Social Work Intern

victoria.deltoro@democracyprep.org

Teng Yang

College Counselor

tyang@democracyprep.org

Corena Wiggins

College Counselor

corena.wiggins@democracyprep.org

Sade Porter

College Counselor

sade.porter@democracyprep.org

Susana Vasquez

Operations Manager

svasquez@democracyprep.org

Jacqueline Martinez

Office Manager

jacqueline.martinez@democracyprep.org

Kassandra Rodriguez

Family Impact Coordinator

kassandra.rodriguez@democracyprep.org

Hugo Crespo

Registrar

hugo.crespo@democracyprep.org

Natalia Pradier

Operations & Technology Associate

natalia.pradier@democracyprep.org

DPNY Board of Directors

Dr. Robert North

Chair, Harlem Hospital

Josh Pristaw

Vice Chair, GTIS Partners

Brian Berger

Vice Chair, Glocap Search

Doug Snyder

Vice Chair, Starboard Value, L.P.

Roger Berg

Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman

Katie Duffy

Democracy Prep Public Schools

Linda Bell

Barnard College

Trevor Gibbons

Joele Franke, Wilkinson, Brimmer, Katcher

Sean Windsor

BDO

Jamal Epps

J.P. Morgan Chase

Ken Weiller

EVA Capital Management, LP

Alastair Wood

Citigroup

Brittany Mullings

Compass

Steven Gordon

Newmark Grubb Knight Frank

Gregory Weston

Winston & Strawn LLP

The Democracy Prep New York Board of Trustees will hold its regular meetings and executive committee during the 2017-18 school year on the following dates:

 Tuesday, July 11, 2017, 8 a.m. (125 Park Ave, New York, NY 10017)
 September 13, 2017, 8:00 a.m., 1767 Park Ave., 5th Floor, New York, NY 10035
 October 10, 2017, 8:00 a.m., location TBD
 November 15, 2017, 6:30 p.m., 207 West 133 St., New York, NY 10030
 January 17, 2018, 6:30 p.m., 240 East 123rd St., New York, NY 10035