Our Story

Democracy Prep Charter High School provides a rigorous college preparatory education for all scholars. Democracy Prep scholars have earned 90% pass rates for the past several years on the English, Integrated Algebra, Chemistry, Global History, Geometry, and Algebra 2/Trigonometry Regents exams, and most recently, the Korean LOTE exam. Additionally, we nurture our scholars’ civic souls with many civic engagement opportunities as well as a rigorous Civics Seminar during their senior year. Scholars also get an opportunity to see and learn about the world by going on various international trips throughout their tenure at DP. This enables them to truly live out our motto: Work Hard. Go to College. Change the World!

PRINCIPAL
Elisa DiMauro

ASSISTANT PRINCIPALS
Mary Kathryn Oyaga & John Alvaro

GRADES SERVED
9 – 12

CURRENT ENROLLMENT
347 Scholars

The DREAM Team

Elisa Dimauro

Principal

edimauro@democracyprep.org

Mary Kathryn Oyaga

Assistant Principal

marykathryn.oyaga@democracyprep.org

John Alvaro

Assistant Principal

john.alvaro@democracyprep.org

Dan Reiss

12th Grade Chair, Advanced English Seminar

dreiss@democracyprep.org

Frank Amaniera

11th Grade Chair, Physics

famaniera@democracyprep.org

Katrina Brown

10th Grade Chair, Dance I, II & III

katrina.brown@democracyprep.org

Nolan McDaniel

9th Grade Chair, Algebra I

nolan.mcdaniel@democracyprep.org

Erin Amato

Geometry

erin.gilliam@democracyprep.org

Erwin Sarazin

Algebra II

erwin.sarazin@democracyprep.org

Ryan Sajac

Calculus, AP Calculus

ryan.sajac@democracyprep.org

Dugdrick Bevins

Advanced English Seminar

dudgrick.bevins@democracyprep.org

Brittany Long

Advanced English Seminar

brittany.long@democracyprep.org

Ashley Getting

Sociology of Change, Change the World Project Coordinator

agetting@democracyprep.org

Matthew Landau

U.S History, AP U.S History

matthew.landau@democracyprep.org

Joshua Goodwin

Global History I

joshua.goodwin@democracyprep.org

Zalina Coronas

Global History II

zalina.charriez@democracyprep.org

Amy Gregorek

Literature Studies I

amy.nunes@democracyprep.org

Margeret Gillespie

Literature II

margaret.gillespie@democracyprep.org

Youngjae Hur

Korean Department Chair, Korean III

yhur@democracyprep.org

Nari Kovalski

Korean I

nari.kovalski@democracyprep.org

Gieun Lee

Korean II

gieun.lee@democracyprep.org

Garret Stevens

Living Environment

garrett.stevens@democracyprep.org

Eshwari Persaud

AP Biology, Environmental Science

eshwari.persaud@democracyprep.org

Jacob Sienko

Chemistry

jacob.sienko@democracyprep.org

Steven Lance

Computer Science

slance@democracyprep.org

Emily Smythe

Writing I

emily.smythe@democracyprep.org

Fabio Puello

Writing II

fabio.puello@democracyprep.org

Messiah Davis

Physical Education

messiah.davis@democracyprep.org

Adam Garnett

Arts In Action & Visual Arts

agarnett@democracyprep.org

Victoria Del Toro

Senior College Counselor

victoria.deltoro@democracyprep.org

Christine Lacey

College Counselor

christine.lacey@democracyprep.org

Micheal Holliday

College Counselor

michael.holliday@democracyprep.org

Victoria Dorony

ACT Coordinator

victoria.dorony@democracy

Paul Hyun

ACT: Seminar in American Democracy

paul.hyun@democracyprep.org

Hugo Crespo

Operations Manager

hugo.crespo@democracyprep.org

Luisa Toribio

Registrar

luisa.toribio@democracyprep.org

Massendie Diaby

Family Impact Coordinator

massendie.diaby@democracyprep.org

Kameron Montague

Operations & Technology Associate

kameron.montague@democracyprep.org

DPNY Board of Directors

  Click to download DPCS Board Meeting Minutes – 2016-17

  Download Annual Report 16-17 

To contact the Democracy Prep Charter High School Board, please email Boardoftrustees@DemocracyPrep.org

For information about the DPNY Board of Trustees, including minutes and upcoming meeting dates, click here.