Our Story

Democracy Prep Charter High School provides a rigorous college preparatory education for all scholars. Democracy Prep scholars have earned 90% pass rates for the past several years on the English, Integrated Algebra, Chemistry, Global History, Geometry, and Algebra 2/Trigonometry Regents exams, and most recently, the Korean LOTE exam. Additionally, we nurture our scholars’ civic souls with many civic engagement opportunities as well as a rigorous Civics Seminar during their senior year. Scholars also get an opportunity to see and learn about the world by going on various international trips throughout their tenure at DP. This enables them to truly live out our motto: Work Hard. Go to College. Change the World!

PRINCIPAL
Shanique Clement

ASSISTANT PRINCIPALS
Jamal George

GRADES SERVED
9 – 12

CURRENT ENROLLMENT
391 Scholars

 

The DREAM Team

Shanique Clement

Principal

shanique.clement@democracyprep.org

Jamal George

Assistant Principal

jamal.george@democracyprep.org

Nina Gardner

Operations Manager

nina.gardner@democracyprep.org

Luisa Toribio

Administrative Manager

luisa.toribio@democracyprep.org

Massendie Diaby

Operations Coordinator

massendie.diaby@democracyprep.org

Julissa Peralta

Receptionist

julissa.peralta@democracyprep.org

Micah Nelson

ELA Department Chair, English Language Arts II

micah.nelson@democracyprep.org

Fabio Puello

English Language Arts II

fabio.puello@democracyprep.org

Daniel Resner

English Language Arts I

daniel.resner@democracyprep.org

Shaniah Thomas

English Language Arts I

shaniah.thomas@democracyprep.org

Youngjae Hur

Korean Department Chair, Korean III

yhur@democracyprep.org

Madeline Yap

Korean II

madeline.yap@democracyprep.org

Nari Kovalski

Korean I

nari.kovalski@democracyprep.org

Steven Lance

STEM Department Chair, Computer Science

slance@democracyprep.org

Francis Amaniera

11th Grade Chair, Physics

famaniera@democracyprep.org

Jacob Sienko

Chemistry

jacob.sienko@democracyprep.org

Garret Stevens

9th Grade Chair, Biology

garrett.stevens@democracyprep.org

Judy Ortega

Calculus

judy.ortega@democracyprep.org

Catherine Campos

Geometry

catherine.campos@democracyprep.org

Frantz Thelusma

Algebra I

frantz.thelusma@democracyprep.org

Ashley Getting

History Department Chair, US History & AP US History

agetting@democracyprep.org

Christopher Allen

Sociology of Change & Seminar in American Democracy

christopher.allen@democracyprep.org

Zalina Coronas

AP European History, Global History II

zalina.coronas@democracyprep.org

Paul Hyun

Global History I

paul.hyun@democracyprep.org

Messiah Davis

Electives Department Chair, Physical Education

messiah.davis@democracyprep.org

Adam Garnett

Art and Action

agarnett@democracyprep.org

Katrina Brown

12th Grade Chair, Dance

katrina.brown@democracyprep.org

Tynaia Rhoden

10th Grade Chair, Scholar Support Specialist

tynaia.rhoden@democracyprep.org

Egypt Buie

DREAM Coach

egypt.buie@democracyprep.org

Darius Richards

11th Grade ACT

darius.richards@democracyprep.org

Breanda Jenkins

12th Grade ACT

Brenda.jenkins@democracyprep.org

Jude Thomas

ACT Humanities

jude.thomas@democracyprep.org

Laverne Sharpe-Johnny

Social Worker

laverne.sharpejohnny@democracyprep.org

Jon Sebastian-Walkes

College Counselor

jon.sebastian-walkes@democracyprep.org

Matthew Vega

College Counselor

matthew.vega@democracyprep.org

DPNY Board of Directors

Dr. Robert North

Chair, Harlem Hospital

Josh Pristaw

Vice Chair, GTIS Partners

Brian Berger

Treasurer, Glocap Search

Doug Snyder

Vice Chair, Luxor Capital Group

Roger Berg

Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman

Trevor Gibbons

Prosek Partners

Sean Windsor

BDO USA, LLP

Ken Weiller

Westfield Investment LLC

Alastair Wood

Kindur

Brittany Mullings

Human Resources Business Partner, National Basketball Association

Gregory Weston

Winston & Strawn LLP

Jake Foley III

Khary Barnes

Vice Chair, JPMorgan Chase & Co

Ross Frommer

Columbia University Irving Medical Center

Farida Ilboudo

Columbia University

To contact the Democracy Prep Charter High School Board, please email Boardoftrustees@DemocracyPrep.org

For information about the DPNY Board of Trustees, including minutes and upcoming meeting dates, click here.