Our Story

Democracy Prep Charter High School provides a rigorous college preparatory education for all scholars. Democracy Prep scholars have earned 90% pass rates for the past several years on the English, Integrated Algebra, Chemistry, Global History, Geometry, and Algebra 2/Trigonometry Regents exams, and most recently, the Korean LOTE exam. Additionally, we nurture our scholars’ civic souls with many civic engagement opportunities as well as a rigorous Civics Seminar during their senior year. Scholars also get an opportunity to see and learn about the world by going on various international trips throughout their tenure at DP. This enables them to truly live out our motto: Work Hard. Go to College. Change the World!

PRINCIPAL
Shanique Clement

ASSISTANT PRINCIPALS
Jamal George & Harrison Margolis

GRADES SERVED
9 – 12

CURRENT ENROLLMENT
422 Scholars

 

The DREAM Team

Shanique Clement

Principal

shanique.clement@democracyprep.org

Jamal George

Assistant Principal

jamal.george@democracyprep.org

Harrison Margolis

Assistant Principal

harrison.margolis@democracyprep.org

Nina Gardner

Operations Manager

nina.gardner@democracyprep.org

Massendie Diaby

Operations Coordinator

massendie.diaby@democracyprep.org

Ndeye Tall

Operations Coordinator

ndeye.tall@democracyprep.org

Reginald Matthews

Special Projects Coordinator

reginald.matthews@democracyprep.org

Reshma Sukhu

Operations Coordinator

reshma.sukhu@democracyprep.org

Tiffany Johnson

Dean of Students

tiffany.johnson@democracyprep.org

Tynaia Rhoden

Scholar Support Specialist

tynaia.rhoden@democracyprep.org

Egypt Buie

DREAM Coach

egypt.buie@democracyprep.org

Laverne Sharpe-Johnny

Social Worker

laverne.sharpejohnny@democracyprep.org

Dominique Powell

Social Worker

dominique.powell@democracyprep.org

Yolanda Jones

Social Worker

yolanda.jones@democracyprep.org

Maurita Salkey

Literature I / Leader U

maurita.salkey@democracyprep.org

Rupinderjeet Sandhu

Literature I

rupinderjeet.sandhu@democracyprep.org

Francis Winn

Literature I

francis.winn@democracyprep.org

Daniel Resner

Literature II

daniel.resner@democracyprep.org

Ryan Fitzgerald

Literature II

ryan.fitzgerald@democracyprep.org

Bernadette Edwards

Advanced Seminar

bernadette.edwards@democracyprep.org

Chad Montague

Advanced English Seminar II

shindana.montague@democracyprep.org

Madeline Yap

Korean I

madeline.yap@democracyprep.org

Myoungjin Choi

Korean II

myoungjin.choi@democracyprep.org

Nari Kovalski

Korean III

nari.kovalski@democracyprep.org

Imani Johnson

Global History

imani.johnson@democracyprep.org

Zalina Coronas

Global History II

zalina.coronas@democracyprep.org

Emelyn Rodriguez

Global History II

emelyn.rodriguez@democracyprep.org

Maaza Muftau

US History

maazu.muftau@democracyprep.org

Christopher Allen

Sociology of Change

christopher.allen@democracyprep.org

Dayna English

Algebra I

dayna.english@democracyprep.org

Paul Nicolas

Algebra II

paul.nicolas@democracyprep.org

Julius St. Rose

Geometry

julius.strose@democracyprep.org

Alhaji Suwari

Trigonometry

alhaji.suwari@democracyprep.org

George Fortune

Biology

george.fortune@democracyprep.org

Mohamed Elgazzar

Chemistry

mohamed.elgazzar@democracyprep.org

Lorenzo Williamson

Physics

lorenzo.williamson@democracypre.org

Fatouseck Primus

Dance Instructor

fatouseck.primus@democracyprep.org

Jarrett Lockhart

Physical Education

jarrett.lockhart@democracyprep.org

Dillon Wiggins

Music

dillon.wiggins@democracyprep.org

Melanie Glaude

Ninth Grade College Counselor

melanie.glaude@democracyprep.org

Brittany McCrae

Tenth Grade College Counselor

brittany.mccrae@democracyprep.org

Matthew Vega

Eleventh Grade College Counselor

matthew.vega@democracyprep.org

Jon Sebastian-Walkes

Twelfth Grade College Counselor

jon.sebastian-walkes@democracyprep.org

Frantz Thelusma

Lower School STEM

frantz.thelusma@democracyprep.org

Brenda Jenkins

Lower School Humanities

brenda.jenkins@democracyprep.org

Judy Ortega

Paraprofessional

judy.ortega@democracyprep.org

DPNY Board of Directors

Dr. Robert North

Chair, Harlem Hospital

Josh Pristaw

Vice Chair, GTIS Partners

Brian Berger

Treasurer, Glocap Search

Doug Snyder

Vice Chair, Luxor Capital Group

Roger Berg

Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman

Trevor Gibbons

Prosek Partners

Sean Windsor

BDO USA, LLP

Ken Weiller

Westfield Investment LLC

Alastair Wood

Kindur

Brittany Mullings

Human Resources Business Partner, National Basketball Association

Gregory Weston

Winston & Strawn LLP

Jake Foley III

Khary Barnes

Vice Chair, JPMorgan Chase & Co

Ross Frommer

Columbia University Irving Medical Center

Farida Ilboudo

Columbia University

To contact the Democracy Prep Charter High School Board, please email Boardoftrustees@DemocracyPrep.org

For information about the DPNY Board of Trustees, including minutes and upcoming meeting dates, click here.